Uncategorized

Microsoft Removed Windows 10 TH2 ISOs Because They Reset User Privacy Settings

Microsoft has just provided us having a statement to explain what specifically occurred for the duration of the weekend when it decided to take away Windows 10 Threshold two ISOs completely and make this new OS update offered exclusively through Windows Update.

When some speculated that the purpose behind this choice was in fact associated to activation concerns, Microsoft claims that it has absolutely nothing to do with this, but with some privacy settings that have been reset after users upgraded with the official ISOs.

In accordance with the business, in the event you disabled some privacy alternatives in Windows 10 before updating, after Threshold 2 was up and running, it automatically enabled them back so a few of your information and facts was collected even though you particularly configured not to.

Redmond claims it all happened accidentally, and now that office 2013 professional plus Threshold 2 ISOs are once more accessible for download, everything should really be back to typical.

On top of that, the enterprise will release updates to fix privacy settings for everyone impacted by this bug, as some customers might nevertheless be unaware on the adjustments Threshold 2 made to their privacy settings.

“Recently we learned of an issue that could have impacted an incredibly little quantity of individuals who had currently installed Windows 10 and applied the November update. As soon as these customers installed the November update, some of their settings preferences might have inadvertently not been retained. For these buyers, we are going to restore their settings more than the coming days, and we apologize for the inconvenience. We worked to resolve the concern as quickly as you possibly can – it can not influence future installs from the November update, which is offered now,” a Microsoft spokesperson told us this morning.

The options in query are marketing ID, background apps, SmartScreen Filter, and Sync with devices, so should you previously set these to off and upgraded to Threshold two, ensure that they are nonetheless off now.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s